Wisconsin centers take home 26 Excellence Awards in the Best of the Midwest Media Fest

Each year Wisconsin Community Media sponsors the Best of Midwest Media Fest to celebrate the quality of local programs produced for public, education, and government (PEG) access channels and LPFM radio stations in a nine-state area of the Midwest.  Top scoring entries receive an Excellence Award and runners up are recognized with either an Achievement or a Merit Award.  To see the full list of this year’s winners, go here. This year, 25 media centers from Wisconsin participated and Wisconsin centers took home 26 Excellence Awards at the 21st annual fest held at the Chula Vista Resort in Wisconsin Dells.

Congratulations to this year’s Excellence Award Winners!

City of Hartford Television

Coerced: The Wisconsin Sex Trafficking Epidemic
Producer: Jennifer Hood
(Gov’t Access Pro - Doc/Feature)

De Pere TV

Central Brown County Water Authority – Providing Communities with Clean & Safe Drinking Water
Producer: Kevin Clark
(Gov’t Access Pro - Doc/Feature)

Independent Producer

Deer Hunt Wisconsin, 2018 and
Pheasants in Wisconsin
Producer: Mark LaBarbera and Dan Small
(Public Access Pro - Doc/Feature)

Madison CityChannel

Madison City Council Meeting of November 13, 2018
Producer: Joe Schraven
(Gov’t Access Pro – Meeting Coverage)

Madison Fire Department: In Your Neighborhood, At Your Service
Producer: Paul Schmidt
(Gov’t Access Pro - Short form Doc/Feature)

Voting Absentee by Mail
Producer: Paul Schmidt
(Gov’t Access Pro - How to/Instructional)

Oregon Cable Access (OCA Media)

Village of Oregon Police Lip-sync Challenge
Producer:  Paul Zwicker
(Gov’t Access Pro – Entertainment)


Oshkosh Media

Making It Happen
Producer:  Edward Kastern
(Public Access Amateur – Talk Show)

 Heavy Metal: Excavator
Producer:  Oshkosh staff
(Gov’t Access Pro – Short Form Doc/Feature) 

State of the City 2018
Producer:  Oshkosh staff
(Gov’t Access Pro – Documentary/Feature)

Welcome to Oshkosh series
Producer:  Oshkosh staff  
(Gov’t Access Pro – Series)

City Manager’s Report Top 10 of 2018

Producer: Oshkosh staff
(Gov’t Access Pro - Magazine Format/News)


Sevastopol TV

DP Top 10 – 2018 BET Experience
Producer:  Demetrius Lee
(Public Access Amateur – Entertainment)


Sun Prairie Media Center

Song Archaeology
Producer:  Mark Gonwa  
(LPFM Radio – Series)

Take Immediate Cover
Producer: Mark Gonwa  
(LPFM Radio – Personality)


UW-Oshkosh Titan TV

Overnight with Oscar, Film Society & Titan TV
Producer:  Oscar Benitez
(Public Access Amateur – Personality)

 Wired Up
Producer:  Aleksandra Miladinovic
(Educational Access Amateur – Entertainment)


UW-Whitewater UWW-TV

University Center – “Warhawks at Night
Producer: Taylor Miller
(Educational Access Amateur – PSA)

 2018 NCAA D-III Football Play-offs, Round Two: St. Norbert at UW-Whitewater
Producers Connor Moore, Tyler Job and Kolton Hegstrom
(Educational Access Amateur – Sports)

A Bite of Wisconsin
Producer: Chuqi “Evis” Li
(Educational Access Amateur – Short form Doc/Feature) 

2018 NCAA Softball Tournament Regional: Coe at UW-Whitewater
Producers: Kolton Hegstrom and Kimberly Reinders
(Educational Access Amateur – Sports)


Vernon Communications (Westby)

Tasteful Driftless – Street Tacos
Jeanette Koester
(Public Access Amateur – How to/Instructional)


Wausau Area Access Media

B Slapped Again!
Jarrod Crooks  
(Public Access Pro – Entertainment)


West Bend Community Television

Impact 4 Life / Kewaskum High School
Rachel Womack  
(Educational Access Pro - Local Events)



IRS Scam Calls
Producer:  Randall Davidson
(LPFM Radio – Documentary/Feature)