

Board of Directors

President Jake Timm Oshkosh Media

Vice-President Lisa Famularo Watertown TV

Secretary Dave Grooman Lake Mills Community and Government TV

Treasurer Deb Brunett Merrill, Wisconsin

Members

Kevin Bargender Trempealeau County WTCO

Boyce Johnson Madison City Channel

Tom Loucks Marshfield Broadcasting

Stephanie Miller McFarland WMCF

Will Nimmow Monona Community Media

Jeff Robbins Sun Prairie Media Center

Executive Director

Mary Cardona 608-215-5594

March 24, 2023

Dennis Geraghty dgerag55@gmail.com

Dear Dennis,

I have the great pleasure to inform you that you have been chosen by the WCM Board of Directors to be the **2023** Inductee into the WCM Hall of Fame!

Each year, WCM recognizes and inducts one community media professional who has shown great leadership and devotion to the mission of public, education, and government access television -- *empowering people to create media for human purposes*.

Hired in 1985 to establish a government access channel video production facility for the City of Milwaukee, you were at the helm of Milwaukee City Channel for 32 years! You worked with video engineers and Time Warner technicians to design the facility and install the first origination points in city buildings, and you worked with the City Clerk's Office to develop a program policy that would serve the city well. Thirty years later, you managed the redesign of City Channel 25 into a high-definition facility without missing a beat -- your staff continued to cover about 20 committees, councils, and commissions as well as other city events during the changeover. Upon your retirement, the Milwaukee City Council rose and gave you a spontaneous standing ovation in recognition of your legacy.

Dennis, you also contributed to the field of PEG access television by being active in the National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors (NATOA) and by serving on the Wisconsin Community Media Board of Directors.

We will be inducting you into the WCM Hall of Fame at the Best of the Midwest Media Fest Banquet and Show on Thursday, May 4 at the Park Hotel on the Capitol Square in Madison. We invite you and a guest to attend the reception at 5 pm, dinner at 6:30 pm followed by the Fest program, which will include your induction into the Hall of Fame. We hope you will share a few thoughts with us at that time.

Please contact me by Friday, April 28 to let me know whether you plan to come.

Again, a most hearty congratulations! I'm looking forward to seeing you!

Sincerely, Many Carlona

Mary Cardona Executive Director exec@wisconsincommunitymedia.com

WCM Hall of Fame Inductees

- 2008 Wade Britzius, Trempealeau County Community Television
- 2009 Judi Kneece, Janesville JATV
- 2010 Jon Urben, Oshkosh Community Media
- 2011 Pam Steitz, Sun Prairie Kids-4
- 2012 John Jordan, Wausau Area Access Channels
- 2013 Mary Shanahan-Spanic, West Allis Community Media Center
- 2014 Connie Darling, Fitchburg FACTv
- 2015 Mick Givens, Rice Lake Television
- 2016 Dan Kummer, Marshfield Community Television
- 2017 Bonnie Lundy, Fitchburg FACTv 2018 Liz Harlow Oregon Cable Access
- 2018 Liz Harlow, Oregon Cable Access Media 2019 Dawn Wills River Falls Community Televis
- 2019 Dawn Wills, River Falls Community Television2020 Jim Walsh, River Cities Community Access (now WRCM)
- 2020 Jim Walsh, River Cities Community Access (now WR
- 2021 Mike Ryan, West Bend Community Television 2022 Vel Wiley MATA Community Media Milwauke
- 2022 Vel Wiley, MATA Community Media, Milwaukee 2023 Dennis Geraghty, Milwaukee City Channel