About Wisconsin Community Media

Wisconsin Community Media's mission is to support community expression through media by serving the needs of Public, Education, and Government media center staff, community producers and volunteers.  We are a non-profit 501(c)(6) professional organization.

WCM believes it is important to keep media production and distribution facilities in the hands of communities, where "everyday" people can use them for the purposes they value without having to consider whether a message is commercially viable. 

We have five standing committees: Finance, Conferences, Public Policy, Membership, and Communications & Resources.

Committees are typically chaired by a member of the Board. Committee members may be any member of the organization, not only the member station's primary contact, but also associate members and emeritus members related to the member station. As a result, not only staff of community media centers may be involved, but also commission members, producers who are members of their station, and elected and appointed officials may serve on committees.

Friends may also serve on committees.

Our Board and Staff

Alan Luckett.jpg

President
Alan Luckett

Station Manager
JATV Media Services
608-758-5823
aluckett@jatv.org
Term expires: 2019
Committees:
Conferences (Co-Chair)
Public Policy
Finance

Jake Timm.jpg

Vice-President
Jake Timm

Coordinator
Oshkosh Media
920-236-5260
jtimm@ci.oshkosh.wi.us
Term Expires: 2020
Committees:
Public Policy (Chair)
Communications & Resources
Conferences

Jeff Robbins.jpg

Secretary
Jeff Robbins

Executive Director
Sun Prairie Media Center
608-837-4193
jrobbins@cityofsunprairie.com   
Term Expires:  2021
Committees:
WCM Program Fund (Chair)
Conferences
LPFM Ad Hoc

Deb.jpg

Treasurer
Deb Brunett

Director, Merrill Productions
Merrill Area Public Schools
715-536-4594 x 3108
deb.brunett@maps.k12.wi.us
Term expires: 2020
Committees:
Finance (Chair)
Conferences (Co-Chair)

Tina.jpg

Tina Breeze Wahlers

Office Manager
JATV Media Services
608-758-5823
tbreeze-wahlers@jatv.org
Term Expires: 2019
Committees:
Communications & Resources (Co-Chair)
Conferences
Conference Program Committee

Dave Grooman

Cable TV Operator / IT Specialist
Lake Mills Community and Government Television
920-648-2344
dgrooman@ci.lake-mills.wi.us
Term Expires: 2021
Southern Region Coordinator
Committees:
Communications & Resources

Boyce.jpg

Boyce Johnson

Media Team Lead
Madison City Channel
608-266-6501
bjohnson@cityofmadison.com
Term Expires:2019
Committees:
Public Policy
WCM Program Fund

John Kelly.JPG

John Kelly

Director
Trempealeau County Community TV
715-538-2311 x 309
johnke@tremplocounty.com
Term expires: 2020
Northern Region Coordinator
Committees:
Marketing Sub Committee (Chair)
WCM Program Fund

tom loucks.jpg

Tom Loucks

Multimedia Coordinator
Wisconsin Rapids Community Media
715-423-0441
tloucks@wirapids.org
Term Expires: 2020
Committees:
Membership (Chair)
Communications & Resources

andy.jpg

Andy Radig

Radio/TV/Film Engineer
UW Oshkosh - Titan TV
920-420-4056
radiga@uwosh.edu
Term Expires: 2021
Committees:
Marketing
LPFM Ad Hoc

nice picture of me PS.jpg

Derek Westby

Communications Manager & IT Operations Specialist
City of Stoughton - WSTO TV
608-646-0435
derek@wsto.tv
Term Expires:  2019
Committees:
Communications & Resources
Conferences
Conference Program Committee

Members on Committees

Jessie Austin
Assistant Multimedia Specialist
Wisconsin Rapids Community Media
715-423-0441
JAustin@wirapids.org
Marketing Subcommittee

Dave Ballerstein
Volunteer
Wisconsin Rapids Community Media
Communications & Resources Committee

Jeremy Crosby
Community Media Services Manager
Fitchburg FACT
608-270-4226
jeremy.crosby@fitchburgwi.gov
Dane County Region Coordinator

Galen Lingl
Director
Mauston Channel 6
608-847-4410
channel6@mauston.com
Finance Committee

Kristin Mickelson
PR & Communications Manager
City of Whitewater/Whitewater Community tV
608-473-1387
kmickelson@whitewater-wi.gov
Marketing Subcommittee

Lisa Wolf
Production Manager
Sun Prairie Media Center
608-837-4193
lwolf@cityofsunprairie.com
Conference Program Committee; LPFM Ad Hoc Committee

Will Nimmow
Director
Monona Community Media
608-513-6160
wnimmow@ci.monona.wi.us
LPFM Ad Hoc Committee

Heather Rigby
Outreach and Communications Coordinator
Valley Media Works, Eau Claire
715-839-5067
heather.rigby@valleymediaworks.org
 Conferences Committee

Jason Rimkus
Media Coordinator
Kenosha Community Media
262-656-8497
jason@kenoshamedia.org
Milwaukee Region Coordinator

Emily Springstroh
Communications Coordinator
Oshkosh Media
920-236-5260
espringstroh@ci.oshkosh.wi.us
Marketing Subcommittee

Ryan VanLanduyt
Executive Director
Rice Lake Community Media
715-234-8077
director@ricelaketv.com
LPFM Ad Hoc Committee Chair

Executive Director

Mary.jpg

Mary Cardona
608-215-5594
exec@wisconsincommunitymedia.com

History

WCM's history.  Wisconsin Community Media was formed in 1998 as the Wisconsin Association of PEG Channels (WAPC). WAPC's founders were managers of PEG centers around the state and they wanted to organize in order to share knowledge and hold professional development events.  They were also interested in showcasing what they were doing through a statewide video fest.  For the first eightyears, WAPC was managed by an all-volunteer board of directors.  In 2006, with 38 member stations, WAPC hired a part-time executive director.  

In 2007, WAPC's membership grew rapidly to 65 members when state legislation ending local franchising and decimating community media was introduced and heavily promoted by AT&T and the cable industry.  While WAPC was unable to stop passage, final language softened the effect of the legislation on PEG stations, even though it ended the collection of PEG fees from subscribers, a dedicated source of funding for community media.

In 2012, the WCM Board of Directors decided to open membership in WCM to individuals, businesses, and organizational supporters of community media.  As a result, WCM now offers   Friend memberships.  We also have a special membership category for the many people who have dedicated most of their career to facilitating access and are now retired.  Our member stations can nominate these special people to be Emeritus Members of WCM. 

Today WCM has over 50 members including local media centers, friends and independent producers.  Our members all produce video and use cable access channels, but nearly all of our members also distribute programming through the web and some of us operate low-power radio stations.